## Chapter 17

# **Entomology without Borders: XXV** International Congress of Entomology, Orlando, 25-30 September 2016

#### Alvin M. Simmons

USDA-ARS, U.S. Vegetable Laboratory, Charleston, SC, USA, Alvin.simmons@usda.gov

#### Walter S. Leal

Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology, University of California-Davis, Davis, CA, USA wsleal@ucdavis.edu

With its bid selected by the ICE Council at the congress in Daegu, Korea, in 2012 (Chapter 16). the United States became the first country to host the ICE three times. The 2016 International Congress of Entomology (XXV ICE) took place from Sunday, September 25, to Friday, September 30, 2016, in Orlando, FL. This was 88 years after IV ICE in Ithaca, NY, in 1928 (Chapter 1), and 40 years after XV ICE in Washington, DC, in 1976 (Chapter 7).

A bid by Entomological Society of America (ESA) submitted to the ICE Council in 2008 in Durban. South Africa, to host the 2012 ICE in San Diego, CA, was not successful. A new bid made in 2012 in Daegu, South Korea, to host the 2016 ICE in Orlando, with Grayson Brown (2012 ESA President) playing a crucial role, was successful. We cochaired a team that prepared the bid for XXV ICE and served as cochairs for the congress (Simmons and Leal 2018).

The ESA decided that, if the bid were successful, the 2016 ESA annual meeting would be held jointly with the congress. Several other entomological societies expressed an interest. Thus, ready to have a greater international impact, ESA was primed to host XXV ICE. Inclusion was paramount in all aspects of this congress, including our concept of an XXV ICE theme. "Entomology without Borders," which, like a big umbrella, covered the diversity of the people and the science of this discipline.

### **Congress Organization**

Because of the anticipated unprecedented size of the congress, having an appropriate organizing team to facilitate the meeting was essential. Although there were 2,500 volunteers, a key component of the Organizing Committee and support was the staff of the ESA (David Gammel, executive director; his team members, Debi Sutton, Rosina Romano [Fig. 17.1], Chris Stelzig, Becky Anthony, Cindy Myers, Nikki Olin, Richard Levine, Neil Willoughby, Lisa Junker, Alexis Lyons, Katherine Matthews, Josh Lancette, Laura Sparks, and Matthew Chism; and ESA affiliate