Translator Disclaimer
1 November 2017 List of Cicadomorpha taxa described by Rauno E. Linnavuori (Hemiptera: Auchenorrhyncha)
Author Affiliations +

A list of 19 family-group, 206 available genus-group, 1267 available and 16 unavailable species-group taxa of Cicadomorpha described by Rauno E. Linnavuori is compiled. The following 18 taxa were originally proposed as unavailable infrasubspecific names, being either published in papers describing forms and varieties along with subspecies or being established after 1960: Aphrophora alni f. umbrina Linnavuori, 1950d, Bahita infuscata var. fratercula Linnavuori, 1959 (made available from the original description due to the action of Linnavuori and DeLong, 1978a: 124), Bahita palliditarsis f. flavicollis Linnavuori, 1959, Empoasca colorata var. rubropunctata Linnavuori, 1960a, Erythroneura leveri var. kraussi Linnavuori, 1960b (validated here as Kanguza kraussi Lemaître, McKamey and Kment sp. nov.), Erythroneura nayavua var. rewanoides Linnavuori, 1960b (validated here as Bogorya rewanoides Lemaître, McKamey and Kment sp. nov.), Exitianus obscurinervis f. nigellus Linnavuori, 1959, Graminella stelliger var. punctipes Linnavuori, 1959 (made available from the original description due to the action of Kramer, 1967a), Hecalus eximius f. reticulatus Linnavuori, 1962a (described again as Hecalus reticulatus Linnavuori, 1975a), Nesophrosyne argentatus var. distans Linnavuori, 1960a, Osbornellus blantoni f. unilineatus Linnavuori, 1959, Stirellus picinus f. mancus Linnavuori, 1959, Tetartostylus parabolatus var. spinosus Linnavuori, 1961a (validated as Tetartostylus parabolatus spinus McKamey and Hicks, 2007), Texanus apicalis f. contaminatus Linnavuori, 1959 (validated here as Texanus (Iowanus) contaminatus Lemaître, McKamey and Kment sp. nov.), Xestocephalus purpurascens var. mendax Linnavuori, 1960b, Xestocephalus purpurascens var. taeniatus Linnavuori, 1960b, Xestocephalus vitiensis var. mancus Linnavuori, 1960b, Xestocephalus vitiensis var. triceros Linnavuori, 1960b. The original misidentification of the type species for Neophlepsius Linnavuori, 1955d is removed by action of first reviser by establishing here Phlepsius gracilis non Osborn, 1923 sensu Linnavuori (1955d) = Neophlepsius corpulentus Linnavuori, 1959 as the type species. Xestocephalus izzardi vuorinoelieae Lemaître, McKamey and Kment nom. nov., a new replacement name for Xestocephalus izzardi dissimilis is established. Balclutha dubiosa Linnavuori, 1975d is considered an available name. The correct original spelling of Agalliopsis puntana Linnavuori and DeLong, 1979d and Mbolokoa Linnavuori, 1972d is established. The grammatical gender of the following genera is fixed: Alloproctus Bergroth, 1924 (masculine), Concepciona Linnavuori and DeLong, 1977c (masculine), Consepusa Linnavuori and DeLong, 1977c (feminine), Maichewia Linnavuori and Al-Ne'amy, 1983 (feminine), Menosoma Ball, 1931 (neuter), and Pediopsoides Matsumura, 1912 (masculine). The gender agreement of Alloproctus placidus (Evans, 1957), Alloproctus fernandezanus (Linnavuori and DeLong, 1977c), Batracomorphus roridus (Linnavuori, 1956e), Macropsis aspera Linnavuori, 1978a, Maichewia aspera Linnavuori and Al-Ne'amy, 1983, Menosoma cinctum (Osborn & Ball, 1898), Menosoma flavolineatum Linnavuori & DeLong, 1978d, Menosoma neocinctum

Valérie A. Lemaître, Stuart H. McKamey, and Petr Kment "List of Cicadomorpha taxa described by Rauno E. Linnavuori (Hemiptera: Auchenorrhyncha)," Entomologica Americana 122(4), 632-729, (1 November 2017).
Published: 1 November 2017

Get copyright permission
Back to Top