How to translate text using browser tools
1 April 2014 A preliminary classification of coastal sand dunes of KwaZulu-Natal
D.W.T. Jackson, J.A.G. Cooper, A.N. Green
Author Affiliations +

Jackson, D.W.T.., Cooper, J.A.G., Green, A.N., 2014. A preliminary classification of sand dunes of the KwaZulu-Natal coast. In: Green, A.N. and Cooper, J.A.G. (eds.), Proceedings 13th International Coastal Symposium (Durban, South Africa), Journal of Coastal Research, Special Issue No. 70, pp. 718–722, ISSN 0749-0208.

The 550 km-long KwaZulu-Natal coast broadly divides into a bedrock-framed southern section and northern coastal plain section, each of approximately equal length. Seven types of coastal dune are identified on this coast: estuary barrier dunes; mainland beach foredunes; prograded beachridge dunes; headland bypass dunes; transverse dune fields; parabolic/migrating dunefield; and climbing dunes. The development and distribution of the various dune forms is more strongly controlled by the geological setting, than the aerodynamic regime.

D.W.T. Jackson, J.A.G. Cooper, and A.N. Green "A preliminary classification of coastal sand dunes of KwaZulu-Natal," Journal of Coastal Research 70(sp1), 718-722, (1 April 2014).
Received: 1 January 2013; Accepted: 1 January 2013; Published: 1 April 2014
climbing dunes
coastal dunes
South Africa.
transverse dune fields
Get copyright permission
Back to Top