Open Access
Translator Disclaimer
9 September 2019 The Greater Bay Area and the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macau Bridge

The Greater Bay Area and the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macau Bridge. The Greater Bay Area in China consists of the mega cities in Southern Chinaã s Pearl River Delta region, including Hong Kong, Macau, Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Zhuhai, Foshan, Dongguan, Zhongshan, Jiangmen, Huizhou, and Zhaoqing. In total, the population of the Greater Bay Area is more than 70 million, contributes 37% of the country's exports, and 12% of its GDP. The Greater Bay Area represents an ambitious plan to compete with Silicon Valley by pooling talents, finance, infrastructure, and technological economies of scale to build the first true global competitor. The Greater Bay Area has grown rapidly from a swampland to a leader in Chinese technological innovation and has become a premier technology and manufacturing hub, where it expects to be the largest coastal economy among global bay areas by 2020. (Background image provided by Velocity Global, LLC.; inset photograph provided by Kin Cheung/Associated Press.)

©Coastal Education and Research Foundation, Inc. 2019
"The Greater Bay Area and the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macau Bridge," Journal of Coastal Research 94(sp1), (9 September 2019).
Published: 9 September 2019

Get copyright permission
Back to Top